Arizona Diamondbacks

Diamondbacks Logo

Team History
Years Known As Record World Series Titles Pennants Playoff Appearance
1998 – 2017 Arizona Diamondbacks 1,596 – 1,644 1 1 6

World Series Titles
Year Opponent Series World Series MVP
2001 New York Yankees 4-3 Randy Johnson & Curt Schilling

Retired Numbers
Number Player Years Played Position
20 Luis Gonzalez 1999 – 2006 OF
51 Randy Johnson 1999 – 2004, 2007 – 2008 LHP

Rookie of the Year
Year Player Position
Manager of the Year
Year Manager
2011 Kirk Gibson
2007 Bob Melvin

Team History

The Arizona Diamondbacks play in the National League West and play their home games at Chase Field. Along with the Tampa Bay Rays (then the Tampa Bay Devil Rays) are the newest franchise in Major League Baseball, having competed since 1998. While the organization is still young it has seen success. In 2001, behind the strength of Randy Johnson and Curt Schilling they became the fastest expansion team to win the World Series.

Arizona was awarded a franchise in early 1995. After paying a franchise fee of $130 million to Major League Baseball they were officially voted into the National League.

The Diamondbacks played their first game on March 31, 1998, at home against the Colorado Rockies in front of a standing room only crowd. Like all expansion teams, their first year was tough. They went 65-97. The off-season that followed would be one that set a foundation for immediate and somewhat sustainable success.

On December 10, 1998, the Diamondbacks signed their biggest and most important free agent of the off-season by inking Randy Johnson. A week later on December 18, they signed Steve Finley. Ten days after signing Finley they completed their outfield by acquiring Luis Gonzalez in a trade with the Detroit Tigers. They wrapped up the spending spree on February 19, 1999, by signing Byung-Hyun Kim as an amateur free agent. The moves paid off as the team won 35 more games in 1999 than 1998 and setting a still-standing franchise record 100 victories. The Diamondbacks would ultimately lose to the New York Mets in the NLDS but they were set to compete for the near future.

In July of 2000, the Diamondbacks acquired the final piece of what would become the core of their World Series winning team. They traded Omar Daal, Nelson Figueroa, Travis Lee, and Vincente Padilla to the Philadelphia Phillies for Curt Schilling.

After just 3 seasons of competition in the Majors Leagues, the Arizona Diamondbacks made their run at the World Championship. Behind the strength of Johnson and Schilling’s combined record of 43-12, over 500 innings pitched and 600 plus strikeouts they won 92 games and took down the defending champion New York Yankees in what is one of the best endings to a World Series game seven in the game’s history. Craig Counsel will never pay for a drink in Phoenix the rest of his life.

The following season they won 98 games but fell to the St. Louis Cardinals in the NLDS. Their success was largely over by the end of the 2003 season. They won the National League West 2007 & 2011 but lost to the Colorado Rockies in the NLCS in 2007 and the Milwaukee Brewers in 2011 in the NLDS. After finishing .500 in both 2012 & 2013 they have not won more than 79 games since then.