January 9

January 8

Today in Baseball History
January 9

January 10
2012 The BBWAA elects former Cincinnati Reds shortstop Barry Larkin as the only player to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. The Reds shortstop, who received 86.4 percent of the votes, will be joined by long time Chicago Cubs third baseman Ron Santo, who was selected posthumously by the Golden Era committee.
1990 Longtime Baltimore Orioles ace Jim Palmer and vital Big Red Machine cog Joe Morgan are both elected to the Hall of Fame i their first year of eligibility. Palmer won three AL Cy Young Awards and Morgan won two NL MVP Awards.
1989 Two-time NL MVP & Cincinnati Reds great Johnny Bench and 1967 AL Triple Crown winning Boston Red Sox outfielder Carl Yastrzemski are elected to the Hall of Fame. Bench was named on 96.4% of ballots, at the time the third highest percentage.
1980 Mr. Tiger, Al Kaline and 8-time All-Star Duke Snider are elected to the Hall of Fame. Kaline played 22-years in Detroit making his debut as an 18-year old.



1989 – Bill Terry
1971 – Elmer Flick