January 8

January 7

Today in Baseball History
January 8

January 9
2014 Former Atlanta Braves teammates and fellow 300-game winners Greg Maddux and Tom Glavine along with first baseman and designated hitter Frank Thomas are elected to the Hall of Fame. This marks the first time in 15 years that three players were inducted in the same year.
2008 Rich “Goose” Gossage is the only player elected to the Hall of Fame. He became only the fifth reliever enshrined in the Hall joining Dennis Eckersley, Rollie Fingers, Bruce Sutter, and Hoyt Wilhelm. Despite having a long and exceptional career he might best be remember as the pitcher who gave up the home run to fellow Hall of Famer George Brett in the Pine Tar game.
2003 1977 American League Rookie of the Year Eddie Murray and Montreal Expos and New York Mets great Gary Carter are elected to the Hall of Fame. Murray is the only switch-hitter in history with 500 career home runs and 3,000 career hits. Carter, after playing for over a decade in ananimoity in Montreal, finally won a World Series in 1986 as a leader of the Mets.
2002 St. Louis Cardinals defensive great Ozzie Smith is elected to the Hall of Fame. Smith, widely considered one of the best defensive players of all-time, won 13 Gold Glove Awards was elected with 91.7% of the votes.
1995 Philadelphia Phillies great Michael Jack Schmidt as he became known in Philadelphia was elected to the Hall of Fame. Schmidt won two MVP awards, 10 Gold Glove Awards and was the 1980 World Series MVP.
1991 Right-handers Gaylord Perry and Ferguson Jenkins along with Rod Carew, a member of the 3,000-hit club, are elected to Hall of Fame. None of the three players selected have ever appeared in a World Series.
1986 Willie McCovey is elected to the Hall of Fame in his first year of eligibility. The first baseman, who hit 521 home runs and drove in 1,555 runs, spent most of his 22-year major league career with the San Francisco Giants.



1912 – Jim O’Rourke