January 23

January 22

Today in Baseball History
January 23

January 24
1979 Willie Mays is elected to the Hall of Fame in his first year of eligibility. Mays was the 1951 NL Rookie of the Year, 1954 & 1965 NL MVP and at the time of his retirement had the third most home runs in baseball history.
1975 Pirate slugger Ralph Kiner is elected to the Hall of Fame by receiving 75.4% of votes barely exceeding the 75% threshold. Kiner is the only players to lead his league in homers in the first seven years of his career.
1968 Joe “Ducky” Medwick of the famed St. Louis Cardinals Gashouse Gang and the last NL player to win the triple crown is elected to the Hall of Fame. Besides winning the triple crown in 1937 he was also the NL MVP and was a 10-time All-Star.
1962 Dodger great and civil rights legend Jackie Robinson and Cleveland’s Bob Feller are both elected to the Hall of Fame in their first year of eligibility. Robinson, of course, was the first black player in the 20th century to play in the majors. As well as being a civil rights trailblazer he also won the first Rookie of the Year award ever given in 1947 and the NL MVP in 1949. Feller who served in the military during three of his prime years (ages 23-25) won 20-games six times and struck out 200 or more seven times.



2015: Ernie Banks