January 12

January 11

Today in Baseball History
January 12

January 13
2009 All-time stolen bases and runs scored leader Rickey Henderson is elected to the Hall of Fame. Henderson, who’s career spanned four decades and nine teams is joined by Jim Rice who spent his entire 16-year career with the Boston Red Sox. This was Henderson’s first year on the ballot and it was Rice’s 15th and final time on the ballot.
1994 Long-time Philadelphia Phillies lefty Steve Carlton is elected to the Hall of Fame. At the time of his induction his four Cy Young Awards were the most by any pitcher and his 4,136 career strikeouts were the most by any left-handed pitcher in history. Both would be surpassed by men who would eventually join him in the Hall.
1988 Willie Stargell or “Pops” as he was affectionatley known, is elected to the Hall of Fame. Stargell was a part of two World Series champion Pirates teams and he was co-MVP in 1979, sharing the award with St. Louis Cardinals first baseman Keith Hernandez. Stargell spend the entirerty of his 21-year career with the Pittsburgh Pirates.
1983 The winningest Latin American pitcher in history, Juan Marichal and the greatest defensive third baseman to ever play, Brooks Robinson are both elected to the Hall of Fame. Robinson the 1964 AL MVP and owner of 16 Gold Gloves played all 23 years as a Baltimore Oriole. Marichal, a 6-time 20-game winner is best known for his 14-year run with the San Francisco Giants before spending his last two years with the Boston Red Sox and Los Angeles Dodgers.