January 11

January 10

Today in Baseball History
January 11

January 12
2000 The original “Pudge”, Carlton Fisk and Tony Perez are elected to the Hall of Fame. Fisk split his career between the Boston Red Sox and Chicago White Sox while Perez played for four teams.
1973 American League owners approve and National League owners veto the designated hitter rule. Following the NL owners veto they approve a three-year American League experiement to use the designated hitter rule. The American League will permanently adopt the rule while the National League has yet to adopt it.


1890 – Max Carey
1876 – Elmer Flick


2016 – Monte Irvin
2000 – Bob Lemon