Rookie of the Year

The Rookie of the Year Award is an annual award given to one player in each league as voted on by the BBWAA. Most fans don’t realize this award was established in 1940 by the Chicago chapter of the BBWAA which selected one winner from 1940-1946. In 1947, the chapter invited all members of the BBWAA to vote and the award became national.

In 1947 and 1948 only one award was given. Starting in 1949, one award was given to a player in each league. It was originally named the J. Louis Comiskey Memorial Award after the Chicago White Sox owner. In July 1987, the award was renamed the Jackie Robinson Award, 40 years after he broke baseball’s color barrier.

Prior to 1957 the term rookie was not strictly defined and writers “used discretion” as to who qualified as a rookie. In 1957, to be considered a rookie a player had to meet certain qualifications. Those qualifications have changed twice since then. Currently, a player is considered a rookie if he has accumulated the following in prior Major League seasons:

  • fewer than 130 at bats or
  • fewer than 50 innings pitched
  • fewer than 45 days on the active roster

Two BBWAA members who cover each team vote for their league awards. Each ballot can contain no more than three names. Each first place vote is worth five points, second place is worth three points, and third place votes are worth one point. The player with the most points is named Rookie of the Year.

Year NL Rookie of the Year Team AL Rookie of the Year Team
2022 Michael Harris Atlanta Braves Julio Rodriguez Seattle Mariners
2021 Jonathan India Cincinnati Reds Randy Arozarena Tampa Bay Rays
2020 Devin Williams Milwaukee Brewers Kyle Lewis Seattle Mariners
2019 Pete Alonso New York Mets Yordan Alvarez Houston Astros
2018 Ronald Acuna Atlanta Braves Shohei Ohtani Los Angeles Angels
2017 Cody Bellinger Los Angeles Dodgers Aaron Judge New York Yankees
2016 Corey Seager Los Angeles Dodgers Michael Fulmer Detroit Tigers
2015 Kris Bryant Chicago Cubs Carlos Correa Houston Astros
2014 Jacob deGrom New York Mets Jose Abreu Chicago White Sox
2013 Jose Fernandez Miami Marlins Wil Myers Tampa Bay Rays
2012 Bryce Harper Washington Nationals Mike Trout Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
2011 Craig Kimbrel Atlanta Braves Jeremy Hellickson Tampa Bay Rays
2010 Buster Posey San Francisco Giants Neftali Feliz Texas Rangers
2009 Chris Coghlan Florida Marlins Andrew Bailey Oakland Athletics
2008 Geovany Soto Chicago Cubs Evan Longoria Tampa Bay Rays
2007 Ryan Braun Milwaukee Brewers Dustin Pedroia Boston Red Sox
2006 Hanley Ramirez Florida Marlins Justin Verlander Detroit Tigers
2005 Ryan Howard Philadelphia Phillies Huston Street Oakland Athletics
2004 Jason Bay Pittsburgh Pirates Bobby Crosby Oakland Athletics
2003 Dontrelle Willis Florida Marlins Angel Berroa Kansas City Royals
2002 Jason Jennings Colorado Rockies Eric Hinske Toronto Blue Jays
2001 Albert Pujols St. Louis Cardinals Ichiro Suzuki Seattle Mariners
2000 Rafael Furcal Atlanta Braves Kazuhiro Sasaki Seattle Mariners
1999 Scott Williamson Cincinnati Reds Carlos Beltran Kansas City Royals
1998 Kerry Wood Chicago Cubs Ben Grieve Oakland Athletics
1997 Scott Rolen Philadelphia Phillies Nomar Garciaparra Boston Red Sox
1996 Todd Hollandsworth Los Angeles Dodgers Derek Jeter New York Yankees
1995 Hideo Nomo Los Angeles Dodgers Marty Cordova Twins
1994 Raul Mondesi Los Angeles Dodgers Bob Hamelin Kansas City Royals
1993 Mike Piazza Los Angeles Dodgers Tim Salmon California Angels
1992 Eric Karros Los Angeles Dodgers Pat Listach Milwaukee Brewers
1991 Jeff Bagwell Houston Astros Chuck Knoblauch Minnesota Twins
1990 David Justice Atlanta Braves Sandy Alomar Jr. Cleveland Indians
1989 Jerome Walton Chicago Cubs Gregg Olson Baltimore Orioles
1988 Chris Sabo Cincinnati Reds Walt Weiss Oakland Athletics
1987 Benito Santiago San Diego Padres Mark McGwire Oakland Athletics
1986 Todd Worrell St. Louis Cardinals Jose Canseco Oakland Athletics
1985 Vince Coleman St. Louis Cardinals Ozzie Guillen Chicago White Sox
1984 Dwight Gooden New York Mets Alvin Davis Seattle Mariners
1983 Darryl Strawberry New York Mets Ron Kittle Chicago White Sox
1982 Steve Sax Los Angeles Dodgers Cal Ripken Jr. Baltimore Orioles
1981 Fernando Valenzuela Los Angeles Dodgers Dave Righetti New York Yankees
1980 Steve Howe Los Angeles Dodgers Joe Charboneau Cleveland Indians
1979 Rick Sutcliffe Los Angeles Dodgers Alfredo Griffin Toronto Blue Jays
1978 Bob Horner Atlanta Braves John Castino Minnesota Twins
1977 Andre Dawson Montreal Expos Lou Whitaker Detroit Tigers
1976 Pat Zachry Cincinnati Reds Mark Fidrych Detroit Tigers
1976 Butch Metzger San Diego Padres Eddie Murray Baltimore Orioles
1975 John Montefusco San Francisco Giants Fred Lynn Boston Red Sox
1974 Bake McBride St. Louis Cardinals Mike Hargrove Texas Rangers
1973 Gary Matthews San Francisco Giants Al Bumbry Baltimore Orioles
1972 Jon Matlack New York Mets Carlton Fisk Boston Red Sox
1971 Earl Williams Atlanta Braves Chris Chambliss Cleveland Indians
1970 Carl Morton Montreal Expos Thurman Munson New York Yankees
1969 Ted Sizemore Los Angeles Dodgers Lou Piniella Kansas City Royals
1968 Johnny Bench Cincinnati Reds Stan Bahnsen New York Yankees
1967 Tom Seaver New York Mets Rod Carew Minnesota Twins
1966 Tommy Helms Cincinnati Reds Tommie Agee Chicago White Sox
1965 Jim Lefebvre Los Angeles Dodgers Curt Blefary Baltimore Orioles
1964 Dick Allen Philadelphia Phillies Tony Oliva Minnesota Twins
1963 Pete Rose Cincinnati Reds Gary Peters Chicago White Sox
1962 Ken Hubbs Chicago Cubs Tom Tresh New York Yankees
1961 Billy Williams Chicago Cubs Don Schwall Boston Red Sox
1960 Frank Howard Los Angeles Dodgers Ron Hansen Baltimore Orioles
1959 Willie McCovey San Francisco Giants Bob Allison Washington Senators
1958 Orlando Cepeda San Francisco Giants Albie Pearson Washington Senators
1957 Jack Sanford Philadelphia Phillies Tony Kubek New York Yankees
1956 Frank Robinson Cincinnati Reds Luis Aparicio Chicago White Sox
1955 Bill Virdon St. Louis Cardinals Herb Score Cleveland Indians
1954 Wally Moon St. Louis Cardinals Bob Grim New York Yankees
1953 Jim Gilliam Brooklyn Dodgers Harvey Kuenn Detroit Tigers
1952 Joe Black Brooklyn Dodgers Harry Byrd Philadelphia Athletics
1951 Willie Mays New York Giants Gil McDougald New York Yankees
1950 Sam Jethroe Boston Braves Walt Dropo Boston Red Sox
1949 Don Newcombe Brooklyn Dodgers Roy Sievers St. Louis Browns
1948 Al Dark Boston Braves
1947 Jackie Robinson Brooklyn Dodgers