Manager of the Year

The Manager of the Year is an award that is given annually to the best manager in each league. The award is voted on by 28 members of the Baseball Writers Association of America. All 28 ballots must contain a first, second and third place manager for each league.

Year NL Winner Team AL Winner Team
2022 Buck Showalter New York Mets Terry Francona Cleveland Guradians
2021 Gabe Kapler San Francisco Giants Kevin Cash Tampa Bay Rays
2020 Don Mattingly Miami Marlins Kevin Cash Tampa Bay Rays
2019 Mike Shildt St.Louis Cardinals Rocco Baldelli Minnesota Twins
2018 Brian Snitker Atlanta Braves Bob Melvin Oakland Athletics
2017 Torey Lovullo Arizona Diamondbacks Paul Molitor Minnesota Twins
2016 Dave Roberts Los Angeles Dodgers Terry Francona Cleveland Indians
2015 Joe Maddon Chicago Cubs Jeff Banister Texas Rangers
2014 Matt Williams Washington Nationals Buck Showalter Baltimore Orioles
2013 Clint Hurdle Pittsburgh Pirates Terry Francona Cleveland Indians
2012 Davey Johnson Washington Nationals Bob Melvin Oakland Athletics
2011 Kirk Gibson Arizona Diamondbacks Joe Maddon Tampa Bay Rays
2010 Bud Black San Diego Padres Ron Gardenhire Minnesota Twins
2009 Jim Tracy Colorado Rockies Mike Scioscia Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim
2008 Lou Piniella Chicago Cubs Joe Maddon Tampa Bay Rays
2007 Bob Melvin Arizona Diamondbacks Eric Wedge Cleveland Indians
2006 Joe Girardi Florida Marlins Jim Leyland Detroit Tigers
2005 Bobby Cox Atlanta Braves Ozzie Guillen Chicago White Sox
2004 Bobby Cox Atlanta Braves Buck Showalter Texas Rangers
2003 Jack McKeon Florida Marlins Tony Pena Kansas City Royals
2002 Tony La Russa St. Louis Cardinals Mike Scioscia Anaheim Angels
2001 Larry Bowa Philadelphia Phillies Lou Piniella Seattle Mariners
2000 Dusty Baker San Francisco Giants Jerry Manuel Chicago White Sox
1999 Jack McKeon Cincinnati Reds Jimy Williams Boston Red Sox
1998 Larry Dierker Houston Astros Joe Torre New York Yankees
1997 Dusty Baker San Francisco Giants Davey Johnson Baltimore Orioles
1996 Bruce Bochy San Diego Padres Johnny Oates Texas Rangers
Joe Torre New York Yankees
1995 Don Baylor Colorado Rockies Lou Piniella Seattle Mariners
1994 Felipe Alou Montreal Expos Buck Showalter New York Yankees
1993 Dusty Baker San Francisco Giants Gene Lamont Chicago White Sox
1992 Jim Leyland Pittsburgh Pirates Tony La Russa Oakland Athletics
1991 Bobby Cox Atlanta Braves Tom Kelly Minnesota Twins
1990 Jim Leyland Pittsburgh Pirates Jeff Torborg Chicago White Sox
1989 Don Zimmer Chicago Cubs Frank Robinson Baltimore Orioles
1988 Tommy Lasorda Los Angeles Dodgers Tony La Russa Oakland Athletics
1987 Buck Rodgers Montreal Expos Sparky Anderson Detroit Tigers
1986 Hal Lanier Houston Astros John McNamara Boston Red Sox
1985 Whitey Herzog St. Louis Cardinals Bobby Cox Toronto Blue Jays
1984 Jim Frey Chicago Cubs Sparky Anderson Detroit Tigers
1983 Tommy Lasorda Los Angeles Dodgers Tony La Russa Chicago White Sox